Sociology Faculty

Name Email Title Specializations
Diana Furman dfurman@nmsu.edu Administrative Assistant Inter
David LoConto dloconto@nmsu.edu Department Head, Professor Disability Studies, Early American Sociology, Social Psychology, Ethnic Studies
Stephanie M. Arnett  sarnett@nmsu.edu Visiting Professor Education, Race and Ethnicity, Research Methods, Social Stratification
David G. Ortiz   dgortiz@nmsu.edu Assistant Professor Social Movements, Civic Engagement, State Repression,Time-Diffusion of Social Processes, Political Sociology, Internet Communication Technologies (ICTs) and Digital Media, Latin America, Peace and Conflict Studies, Research Methodology
Patricia Hoffman phoffman@nmsu.edu College Professor Family, Research Methods, Environmental Sociology
Kathryn Hovey khovey@nmsu.edu College
Assistant Professor
Social Theory, Criminology, Social Control, Deviance, Urban and Rural Communities
Alison Newby canewby@nmsu.edu Assistant Professor Demography, Migration, U.S. – Mexico Border
Cynthia Fabrizio Pelak cpelak@nmsu.edu Assistant Professor Social Inequality, Multi-racial Feminist Theories, Sociology of Sports, Race and Ethnic Relations, Collective / Social Memory, Social Change and Social Movements
James Rice jcrice@nmsu.edu Associate Professor International Political Economy, Environmental Sociology, Theory
Julie Steinkopf Rice ja_rice@nmsu.edu Associate Professor Post-Marxism,  Alternative Economies, Economic Subjectivity, Community Development, Public Sociology
Sandra Way sway@nmsu.edu Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies Sociology of Education, Stratification, Race/Ethnicity, Gender, Juvenile Delinquency

Affiliated Faculty

Name Email
Martha Loustaunau mloustau@nmsu.edu
Kassia Wosick kassiaw@nmsu.edu

Retired Faculty

Name Specializations
Martha Loustaunau Medical Sociology, Medical Ethics, Aging and Society
Lee Hamilton Sociology of Rural Communities, Sociology of Organizations, Social Change, Social Theory
Joe Rogers First Department Head of Sociology and Anthropology, 1968-1973. Criminology, Juvenile Delinquency, Social Problems, and the American Circus.
Cookie Stephan Social Psychology, Race/Ethnicity, Gender
Jim Williams Demography, Social Science Research Methods, Statistics