Sociology Faculty

For Fall 2020 office hours please click here

Name Email Title Specializations
Nicole Heckathorn nicoleh@nmsu.edu Administrative Assistant
Dennis Giever dgiever@nmsu.edu Interim Department Head, Professor Criminology and Criminal Justice
Stephanie M. Arnett sarnett@nmsu.edu Assistant Professor Education, Race and Ethnicity, Research Methods, Social Stratification
David LoConto dloconto@nmsu.edu Professor Early American Sociology, Social Psychology, Popular Culture
Alison Newby canewby@nmsu.edu Assistant Professor Demography, Migration, U.S. – Mexico Border
David G. Ortiz dgortiz@nmsu.edu Associate Professor Social Movements, Civic Engagement, State Repression,Time-Diffusion of Social Processes, Political Sociology, Internet Communication Technologies (ICTs) and Digital Media, Latin America, Peace and Conflict Studies, Research Methodology
Cynthia Fabrizio Pelak cpelak@nmsu.edu Associate Professor Social Inequality, Multi-racial Feminist Theories, Sociology of Sports, Race and Ethnic Relations, Collective / Social Memory, Social Change and Social Movements
James Rice jcrice@nmsu.edu Professor International Political Economy, Environmental Sociology, Theory
Julie Steinkopf juliestk@nmsu.edu Associate Professor,
Graduate Coordinator
Capitalism, Post-Marxism, Alternative Economies, Economic Subjectivity, Community Development, Public Sociology
Marshall Taylor mtaylor2@nmsu.edu Assistant Professor Sociology of Culture, Cognitive Sociology, Computational Social Science, Social Movements, Quantitative Methods
Sandra Way sway@nmsu.edu Associate Professor Sociology of Education, Stratification, Race/Ethnicity, Gender, Juvenile Delinquency

Retired Faculty

Name Specializations
Lee Hamilton Sociology of Rural Communities, Sociology of Organizations, Social Change, Social Theory
Patricia Hoffman Family, Environment, Research Methods
Kathryn Hovey (deceased) Social Theory, Criminology, Social Control, Deviance, Urban and Rural Communities
Martha Loustaunau Medical Sociology, Medical Ethics, Aging and Society
Joe Rogers First Department Head of Sociology and Anthropology, 1968-1973. Criminology, Juvenile Delinquency, Social Problems, and the American Circus.
Cookie Stephan Social Psychology, Race/Ethnicity, Gender
Jim Williams Demography, Social Science Research Methods, Statistics